WELCOME to High Plains Muzzle Loading Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New project

Go down

New project Empty New project

Post by Roblynch 05/03/22, 09:49 am

Hey all, 

First I will say I am not a gunsmith, I am a hobbyist. I have done a bunch of reading and this is my first attempt at this kinda work.

I picked up a Traditions Buck Hunter inline from a friend at work for 50 bucks. It hasn't been shot and was just sitting around. I have read that some say its not very consistent when shooting. So, I figured why not pick grab it and see what I can do to make it better,  since I do like to tinker with stuff. When I was going over looking at it I noticed that the muzzle didn't look to be square, so I pulled the barrel and got it mounted in the lathe at work. Well, I can tell you that it wasn't even close to being square. I had to remove right a .070 to get it square. Once I did that I figured why not put a nice crown on it. I went for a "Step" style target crown. The inside bevel on the bore itself is 60 degrees with the inside edge being a 45 degree and the outside of the barrel being another 45 degrees as well. I went this direction, so it would make loading a patch ball easier if I decided to use one. Here are some pictures of what has be done so far. I will post more if you would like to see the progress. I have a show next week and will be gone, but after that I will post again.
Roblynch
Roblynch

188mule likes this post

Back to top Go down

New project Empty Re: New project

Post by Roblynch 05/03/22, 09:52 am

New project 20220313
New project 20220315
New project 20220314
Roblynch
Roblynch

188mule likes this post

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest 05/03/22, 01:35 pm

Roblynch wrote:Hey all, 

First I will say I am not a gunsmith, I am a hobbyist. I have done a bunch of reading and this is my first attempt at this kinda work.