WELCOME to High Plains Muzzle Loading Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newby Cleaning Question

+2
deerstalkert
Rvrrat14
6 posters

Go down

Newby Cleaning Question Empty Newby Cleaning Question

Post by Rvrrat14 12/02/22, 06:40 am

I am new to ML. Raised on guns, fishing, outdoors, reloading, casting, and most outdoor things. I have never had any rust appear in my bores or on the outsides of my firearms. As a young kid some 50+ years ago, I thought about black powder guns, but was afraid of the horror stories of all the rust, pitting, etc. Wash in warm water, soap, etc. Messy, etc.

Now, I read about the substitutes and stainless guns, as well as special hunting seasons for ML, and have become interested enough to begin to purchase all the wares it will take to begin this trip down another rabbit hole. I’m excited! My own 50 cal!
I have watched videos, read forums, etc. on how to properly clean a ML. Lots of little differences. I want to keep my new Optima V2 as clean and 100% functional as possible.

My question is this: Following manufacturers instructions on cleaning the rifle, using White Hot pellets, regularly cleaning and oiling the rifle, is Rust/Pits just part of it, or will it stay shiny/new if properly cleaned? Trying to figure out what my expectations should be.

Thanks and appreciate you guys having me!

Rvrrat14

Back to top Go down

Newby Cleaning Question Empty Re: Newby Cleaning Question

Post by deerstalkert 12/02/22, 01:56 pm

keep it clean and forget about the rust/pitting.
neglect it and you will be familiar with rust and pitting.
that said sometimes there is no rhyme or reason as to rust/corrosion etc.
i have a CVA mountain rifle i gave to my brother 30 years ago to use as a prop in his Photo Shop. his son fired it once somewhere along those years and didn't clean it. swabbed it out when i got it back last year and it was fine. go figure.

deerstalkert